Skip to main content

Research membership

This category of membership is open to all academics but admittance is through a detailed application process which is open every two years. Research members are appointed on the basis of their academic work by a special committee.

Someone speaking in front of a crowded hall

ECGI is a global interdisciplinary academic network. The Research Members are the guardians of ECGI's academic integrity. They have a majority on all boards and committees, and they produce high quality research and events which are disseminated through the ECGI network.

When is the next possible opportunity to apply to become an ECGI Research member?

ECGI will next be accepting applications for research memberships in the summer 2024. This will be announced through the ECGI mailing list and on the ECGI website. Click here to subscribe to the ECGI mailing list. 

Who can apply?

Anyone can apply to become a research member of ECGI, however there is a high bar for admittance. At a minimum, applicants should be producing research on corporate governance related topics and have a solid record of quality papers and publications.

Do I need to be nominated?

No, anyone can apply without being nominated. ECGI seeks nominations from our existing research members to help identify those conducting quality research and to ensure that they apply to become a research member. Individuals who are nominated will be contacted with a request to submit an application. Soliciting multiple nominations is generally discouraged but will not count against applicants.

What are the main reasons for non-admittance?

Some common reasons for non-admittance include:

  • Insufficient focus on corporate governance topics, broadly defined.
  • High calibre early stage scholars without an adequate record.

The assessment criteria differs between law and finance scholars. For example, journal publications and citations are less relevant for law scholars.

The decision of the Appointments Committee is final and they do not provide feedback or reasons for decline.

Research Membership

No charge*

The benefits include:

  • Eligibility to publish in the ECGI working paper series.
  • Use of the ECGI affiliation for professional accreditation.
  • Speaking opportunities at ECGI events.
  • Participation on ECGI boards and committees with fellow members.
  • Promotion of research activities through ECGI channels (newsletters, interviews, social media etc.)
  • An individual professional listing in the ECGI membership directory.
  • Registration for public and members-only email communications.
  • Free attendance at the ECGI Annual Conference and Dinner.
  • Networking opportunities and access to leading academics.
  • Access to the ECGI Community platform and noticeboard.
  • Free access to events when applicable.

*Research Members are encouraged to sign up their universities as Academic Institutional Members to support our ongoing work. 

Other membership options 

Our community of research members

  • Roni Michaely

    Zhang Yonghong Professor in Finance
    Hong Kong University
    Research Member
  • Curtis J. Milhaupt

    William F. Baxter - Visa International Professor of Law
    Stanford Law School
    Research Member
  • Geoffrey Miller

    Stuyvesant Comfort Professor of Law
    New York University Law School
    Research Member
  • Florian Moeslein

    Chair of Private Law, German and European Business Law
    Philipps-University of Marburg (Germany)
    Research Member
  • Niamh Moloney

    Professor of Law
    Law Department, London School of Economics
    Research Member
  • Randall Morck

    Stephen A. Jarislowsky Distinguished Chair in Finance
    School of Business, University of Alberta
    Research Member
  • Alan Morrison

    Professor of Law and Finance
    Saïd Business School, University of Oxford
    Research Member
  • Peter Muelbert

    Professor of Civil Law, Commercial and Business Law and Banking Law
    Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
    Research Member
  • Holger Mueller

    Professor of Finance
    New York University - Stern School of Business
    Research Member
  • Stewart Myers

    Robert C. Merton (1970) Professor of Financial Economics
    MIT Sloan School of Management
    Fellow, Research Member
  • Lilian Ng

    Scotiabank Chair in International Finance
    Schulich School of Business, York University
    Research Member
  • Boris Nikolov

    Professor of Finance
    University of Lausanne, Swiss Finance Institute
    Research Member
  • Yaron Nili

    Professor of Law and Smith-Rowe Faculty Fellow in Business Law
    University of Wisconsin Law School
    Research Member
  • Thomas Noe

    Ernest Butten Professor of Management Studies
    Saïd Business School Oxford
    Research Member
  • Oyvind Norli

    Professor of Finance
    BI Norwegian Business School
    Research Member
  • Mary O'Sullivan

    Professeure d'histoire économique
    Université de Genève
    Research Member
  • Marcus Opp

    Stockholm School of Economics
    Research Member
  • Alessio Pacces

    Professor of Law and Finance
    Amsterdam Law School and Business School, University of Amsterdam
    Research Member
  • Marco Pagano

    Professor of Economics, Facoltà di Economia
    Università di Napoli Federico II
    Fellow, Research Member
  • Anete Pajuste

    Professor of Finance, Head of Accounting and Finance Department
    Stockholm School of Economics (Riga)
    Research Member
  • Fausto Panunzi

    Professor of Economics
    Istituto di Economia Politica & IGIER, Università Bocconi
    Fellow, Research Member
  • Daniel Paravisini

    Reader in Finance (Tenured Associate Professor)
    London School of Economics
    Research Member
  • Frank Partnoy

    Adrian A. Kragen Professor of Law
    University of California, Berkeley
    Research Member
  • Jennifer Payne

    Professor of Corporate Finance Law
    Law Faculty, University of Oxford
    Research Member
  • Fernando Penalva

    Professor of Accounting and Control
    IESE Business School, University of Navarra
    Research Member
  • Urs Peyer

    Associate Professor of Finance
    Research Member
  • Katharina Pistor

    Michael I. Sovern Professor of Law
    Columbia Law School
    Fellow, Research Member
  • Andrea Polo

    Associate Professor of Finance
    Luiss University, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, EIEF and Barcelona GSE
    Research Member
  • Annette Poulsen

    Sterne Professor of Banking and Finance
    University of Georgia
    Research Member
  • Dan Puchniak

    Singapore Management University, Yong Pung How School of Law
    Research Member
  • Manju Puri

    J.B. Fuqua Professor of Finance
    Duke University
    Research Member
  • Raghuram Rajan

    Katherine Dusak Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance
    University of Chicago
    Fellow, Research Member
  • Tarun Ramadorai

    Professor of Financial Economics
    Imperial College Business School
    Research Member

ECGI is a vibrant network of governance experts. Listen to what some of them say about being part of the ECGI community.

How can I apply to become a member?

You can apply directly here using our easy application form. If you would like more information about the categories of membership and associated benefits, you can visit our becoming a member page.

Do I need to be nominated to become a member?

No. It is possible to apply for each category without being nominated. However, there is a difference between academic membership and research membership. You can sign up for academic membership today, but applications for research membership are only received every two years. Learn more about the differences in membership categories here.

How can I reinstate my lapsed membership?

We are happy to help you to reactivate your membership. Please send a request by email to

Hear directly from our members...

Scroll to Top