Skip to main content

2023 Corporate Governance Symposium
John L. Weinberg/IRRCi Research Paper Award Competition

University of Delaware Lerner College of Business & Economics
Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance and ECGI 

Friday, 17 March 2023 | 08:45 – 16:15 EDT | 13:45 – 21:15 CET

Location: University of Delaware, Newark, USA



The John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance and the Department of Finance at the Lerner College of Business & Economics at the University of Delaware hosted an in-person Academic Symposium in collaboration with the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI) on Friday, 17 March 2023. The University of Delaware is located in Newark, Delaware, 40 minutes from the Philadelphia International Airport.

Academics and Practitioners were invited to submit papers by 18 November 2022 for consideration. All submissions related to corporate governance were welcomed. Two of the papers selected will each receive the 2023 John L. Weinberg/IRRCi Research Paper Award and a $10,000 prize. Details of past year's programme and award winners are available here.

This research competition is the successor to the IRRCi Investor Research Paper Award, a prominent award garnering significant attention amongst the investment community, academia and policymakers. The John L. Weinberg/IRRCi Research Paper Award, as its predecessor did, highlights innovative research.

Please note that the selection of winners/finalists, if any, is at the sole discretion of the John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance. The Weinberg Center fully awarded two $10,000 prizes.

Conference Location: Clayton Conference Center (U. of Delaware), 100 David Hallowell Dr., Newark, DE 19716

General inquiries regarding the competition or the Symposium should be directed to Louisa Cresson at


Friday, 17 March 2023 | 08:00 EDT (13:00 CET)




Bruce Weber
Justin P Klein

Session 1 | Chaired by


Paul Laux

Session 2 | Chaired by


Hamed Mahmudi

Fast and Furious Session | Chaired by


Lunch Break

Session 3 | Chaired by


Song Zhang

Session 4 | Chaired by


Mahsa Kaviani

Concluding Remarks



Pat Akey

Associate Professor of Finance
University of Toronto
Research Member

Lucian Bebchuk

James Barr Ames Professor of Law, Economics, and Finance
Harvard Law School
Fellow, Research Member

Doron Levit

Associate Professor of Finance and Business Economics
University of Washington
Research Member

Andrey Malenko

Professor of Finance
Boston College, Carroll School of Management
Research Member

Laura Field

Donald J. Puglisi Professor of Finance
University of Delaware
Research Member

Fei Xie

Chaplin Tyler Professor of Finance & Iannaccone Faculty Fellow
University of Delaware, Lerner College of Business and Economics
Research Member


Scroll to Top