Skip to main content

Watch all the presentations here

Tuesday, 16 March 2021

09:45 – 15:00 EDT | 14:45 – 20:00 CET



Laura Field (University of Delaware and ECGI)

Fei Xie (University of Delaware and ECGI)


Download programme



The John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance and the Department of Finance at the Lerner College of Business and Economics, at the University of Delaware, hosted its 2021 annual corporate governance symposium in collaboration with the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI). The focus of the Symposium was “Critical Issues for Boards and Investors in 2021.”

The symposium featured the two winning papers of the 2021 John L. Weinberg/IRRCi Research Paper Award competition which seeks to highlight innovative research and includes an award of USD 10,000.

The Covid-19 pandemic has increased the focus on various environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues by investors and other stakeholders. The papers included in the symposium collectively address topics within the area of ESG that are of critical importance in 2021 for boards of directors and investors.

The winning papers, ‘The ESG-Innovation Disconnect: Evidence from Green Patenting’ (Cohen, Gurun, Nguyen) and ‘The Distribution of Voting Rights to Shareholders’ (Fos, Holderness) was presented and discussed with the semi-finalist’s papers for the prize. 



Supported by



Laura Starks

George Kozmetsky Centennial University Distinguished Chair
McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin
Research Member

Alexander Dyck

Professor of Finance and Economic Analysis
University of Toronto
Research Member

Lilian Ng

Scotiabank Chair in International Finance
Schulich School of Business, York University
Research Member

Wei Jiang

Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Finance
Emory University Goizueta Business School
Research Member

Tracy Wang

John Spooner Professor of Finance
University of Minnesota
Research Member

Michelle Lowry

TD Bank Professor of Finance; Academic Director of Gupta Governance Institute
Drexel University
Research Member

Xiaoyun Yu

Professor of Finance
Shanghai Advanced Institute of Finance (SAIF), and a research member of the European Corporate Governance Institute

Laura Field

Donald J. Puglisi Professor of Finance
University of Delaware
Research Member

Marco Becht

Professor of Finance and the Goldschmidt Professor of Corporate Governance
Solvay Brussels School for Economics and Management, Université libre de Bruxelles
Fellow, Research Member

Fei Xie

Chaplin Tyler Professor of Finance & Iannaccone Faculty Fellow
University of Delaware, Lerner College of Business and Economics
Research Member

Pedro Matos

James A. & Stacy Cooper Bicentennial Professor of Business Administration (Finance)
Darden School of Business, University of Virginia
Research Member

Elroy Dimson

Chairman, Centre for Endowment Asset Management; Research Director (Finance & Accounting), Judge Business School
Cambridge University
Research Member

Vyacheslav Fos

Professor of Finance and Hillenbrand Family Faculty Fellow
Boston College
Research Member

Nadya Malenko

Professor of Finance and Wargo Family Faculty Fellow
Boston College, Carroll School of Management
Research Member

Eliezer Fich

Trustee Professor of Finance
Drexel University
Research Member


Elaine McPartlan
European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI)
Scroll to Top