Skip to main content
University of Delaware Lerner College of Business & Economics
Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance and ECGI 

2024 Corporate Governance Symposium
John L. Weinberg/IRRCi Research Paper Award Competition

This was an In-person conference and also Live-streamed

 Friday, 15 March 2024
08.15 – 17.20 EDT (13.15 – 22.20 CET)
University of Delaware, Newark, USA

Registration deadline - March 10th17.00 EDT
Registration fee$150 
Laura Field (University of Delaware and ECGI)
Fei Xie (University of Delaware and ECGI)



In collaboration with the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI), the John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance and the Department of Finance at the Lerner College of Business and Economics at the University of Delaware hosted its 2024 annual corporate governance symposium. The winners of the 2024 John L. Weinberg/IRRCi $10,000 Research Paper Award competition were announced during the program. The papers included in the symposium collectively address new developments and critical issues within the area of corporate governance.

Conference Location: Clayton Conference Center (U. of Delaware), 100 David Hallowell Dr., Newark, DE 19716

General inquiries regarding the competition or the Symposium should be directed to Louisa Cresson at

Please note that the selection of winners/finalists, if any, is at the sole discretion of the John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance.  The Weinberg Center fully anticipates awarding up to three $10,000 prizes but reserves the right to select no papers as winners in the event papers submitted do not meet the above guidelines and/or the Center does not believe any paper is worthy of the award.


FRIDAY, 15 MARCH 2024 | 08:15 EDT (13:15 CET)

Registration & Breakfast

Welcomes & Introductions

Session 1 | ESG Issues

Coffee break

Session 2 | Directors

Lunch Break and Presentation of winner of ACC/Weinberg Carl Liggio Memorial Award

Coffee break

Session 3 | Generative AI & Finance

Coffee break

Session 4 | Regulations and Disclosure

Conference ends

Post Conference Dinner


Pedro Matos

James A. & Stacy Cooper Bicentennial Professor of Business Administration (Finance)
Darden School of Business, University of Virginia
Research Member

Daniel Ferreira

Professor of Finance
London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)
Fellow, Research Member

Wei Jiang

Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Finance
Emory University Goizueta Business School
Research Member

Organised by

Fei Xie
Chaplin Tyler Professor of Finance & Iannaccone Faculty Fellow
University of Delaware, Lerner College of Business and Economics
Laura Field
Donald J. Puglisi Professor of Finance
University of Delaware


Louisa Cresson
University of Delaware
Scroll to Top