Skip to main content

Modern Capitalism and Corporate Purpose

Summary Report

Programme and biographies

Wednesday, 20 September 2023 | Young Scholars Workshop - More Info

Thursday, 21 September 2023 | Perspectives on Corporate Purpose

Friday, 22 September 2023 | 2023 Wallenberg Lecture, Prizes and more - More Info


Copenhagen Business School, Porcelænshaven 20, The Kiln Hall/Ovnhallen, DK-2000 Frederiksberg, Copenhagen

The ECGI Annual Dinner was held at "Josty".


This was an in-person event only. 

About the Event:

As part of the Corporate Purpose pillar of ECGI’s Responsible Capitalism initiative, this 3-day event brought together academic scholars, and business leaders to address the central questions relating to corporate purpose and capitalism more broadly. Following a workshop on corporate purpose designed for young scholars on the first day, there was a conference with five sessions to consider different perspectives of corporate purpose. The final day included the ECGI General Assembly meeting, the 2023 Wallenberg Lecture, working paper prizes and a session on corporate purpose in practice. The ECGI Annual dinner took place on Thursday 21 September.

Open to the public:

Young Scholars Workshop (20 September)

Perspectives on Corporate Purpose (21 September)

Working Paper Prize Sessions, Wallenberg Lecture and Purpose in Practice Session (22 September)


Open to ECGI Members and invited guests:

ECGI Annual General Meeting (22 September)

ECGI Annual Dinner (21 September) (Become a member)



Thursday, September 21 2023 | 09:45 CEST

Coffee Break


Coffee Break

Coffee Break

Closing remarks

Reception and Dinner (Open to speakers, ECGI members and invited guests)


Steen Thomsen

Center for Corporate Governance, Copenhagen Business School
Research Member

Jennifer G. Hill

Bob Baxt AO Chair in Corporate and Commercial Law
Monash University
Research Member

Jordi Canals

Professor of Strategic Management
IESE Business School, University of Navarra
Academic Member

Morten Bennedsen

André and Rosalie Hoffmann Chaired Professor of Family Enterprise
Research Member

Julian Franks

Professor of Finance
London Business School
Fellow, Research Member

George Dallas

Head of Content
European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI)
Practitioner Member

Guy Jubb

Honorary Professor
University of Edinburgh
Practitioner Member

Colin Mayer

Emeritus Professor of Management Studies
Blavatnik School of Government and Saïd Business School, University of Oxford
Fellow, Research Member


Scroll to Top