2022 Prize winners

2022 Prize winners

With the generous support of Intesa Sanpaolo and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Aberdeen Standard Investments (2005-2020), Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 20222021 |  2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the two prizes in the 2022 Working Paper Competition will be awarded at ECGI's Annual Members' Meeting scheduled to take place on 16 September 2022 in Milan, Italy.


    The ECGI Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by Intesa Sanpaolo       

    The winning paper:

    Creating Controversy in Proxy Voting Advice
    (ECGI Finance Working Paper 772/2021).

    The authors of this paper are Andrey Malenko (University of Michigan and CEPR), Nadya Malenko (University of Michigan, CEPR and ECGI), Chester S. Spatt (Carnegie Mellon University and NBER)


    The Cleary Gottlieb Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP.

    The winning paper:

    The Corporate Governance Machine
    (ECGI Law Working Paper 564/2021)

    The authors of this paper are Dorothy S. Lund (University of Southern California), and Elizabeth Pollman (University of Pennsylvania and ECGI).