Skip to main content

16th Annual Corporate Governance Academic Conference

Drexel University - ECGI

Friday, 14 April 2023

08:30 - 17:00 EDT | 14:30 - 23:00 CEST


Drexel University LeBow College of Business



The Raj & Kamla Gupta Governance Institute held its 16th Annual Corporate Governance Conference.  Academics and Practitioners were invited to submit papers by December 21, 2022, to this annual, invitation-only conference in any area related to corporate governance, which includes (but is not restricted to) topics such as boards of directors, compensation, shareholder activism, mergers, debt as a form of governance, ESG-related issues, political influences on governance, etc.

The Raj & Kamla Governance Institute at Drexel University hosted the conference in collaboration with the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI). The conference highlighted the profound research by top professors around the world on issues related to corporate governance and the boardroom.


The conference was held on Friday, April 14 2023, with a pre-conference dinner on Thursday, April 13 2023, at the La Viola Restaurant, Philadelphia. (253 S 16th St, Philadelphia, PA 19102, US)

The conference on the 14 April took place at Drexel University LeBow College of Business, Gerri C. LeBow Hall, 722 (7th floor), 3220 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104

Contact Mirela Hima, assistant director, Raj & Kamla Gupta Governance Institute, for any queries:

Corporate Governance Center Fellows, who serve as the program committee, are:

  • Renee Adams
  • Jeffrey Coles
  • Diane Del Guercio
  • David Denis
  • Laura Field
  • Nick Gantchev
  • Todd Gormley
  • Tom Griffin
  • Jarrad Harford
  • Peter Iliev
  • Wei Jiang
  • Dalida Kadyrzhanova
  • Jonathan Karpoff
  • Nadya Malenko
  • Kevin Murphy
  • Lalitha Naveen
  • Micah Officer
  • Gordon Phillips
  • Anil Shivdasani
  • Anh Tran
  • Michael S. Weisbach
  • Jared Wilson
  • Tracie Woidtke
  • Yuhai Xuan
  • Ke Yang
  • David L. Yermack


Thursday,13 April 2023 | 18:00 EDT

Welcome Dinner | La Viola Restaurant

Friday, 14 April 2023 | 08:30 EDT (14:30 CEST)

Registration & Breakfast

SESSION I: Environmental and Social Considerations | Chaired by


Coffee Break

SESSION II: Governance in Action | Chaired by


Lunch Break

Coffee Break

SESSION III: Beyond Corporate Governance | Chaired by




Paolo Volpin

Acting Dean and Professor of Finance
Cass Business School, Faculty of Finance
Research Member

Pedro Matos

James A. & Stacy Cooper Bicentennial Professor of Business Administration (Finance)
Darden School of Business, University of Virginia
Research Member

Pat Akey

Associate Professor of Finance
University of Toronto
Research Member

Fabrizio Ferri

Professor of Financial and Managerial Accounting
University of Miami
Research Member

Matthew Serfling

Associate Professor of Finance
University of Tennessee - Knoxville
Research Member

Marco Becht

Professor of Finance and the Goldschmidt Professor of Corporate Governance
Solvay Brussels School for Economics and Management, Université libre de Bruxelles
Fellow, Research Member

David Yermack

Chairman, Finance Department, Stern School of Business
New York University
Research Member

Laura Field

Donald J. Puglisi Professor of Finance
University of Delaware
Research Member


Mirela Hima
LeBow College of Business
Scroll to Top