2018 Prize winners

2018 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2021 | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the two prizes in the 2018 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's Annual Lecture held at ESMT Berlin, Germany on 4 May 2018.


    The Aberdeen Standard Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the global asset manager, Aberdeen Standard Investments.

    The winning paper:

    Why Do Boards Exist? Governance Design in the Absence of Corporate Law.

    ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 504/2017

    The authors of this paper are Mike Burkart, London School of Economics and Political Science, Salvatore Miglietta, BI Norwegian Business School, Charlotte Ostergaard, BI Norwegian Business School.


    The Allen & Overy Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice, Allen & Overy.

    The winning paper:

    The Agency Costs of Activism: Information Leakage, Thwarted Majorities, and the Public Morality. 

    ECGI Law Working Paper No. 373/2017

    The author of this paper is John C. Coffee, Columbia Law School.