Appointment of 17 New ECGI Research Members

Appointment of 17 New ECGI Research Members

April 10 2019

ECGI is delighted to announce the appointment of 17 new Research Members to add to its distinguished ranks. The new Research Members, who are drawn from academia in Europe, North America and Asia were admitted on the quality of their academic work in the field of corporate governance and stewardship. The committee responsible for the selection is currently chaired by Professor Per Strömberg, SSE Centennial Professor of Finance and Private Equity at the Stockholm School of Economics. Also on the committee are Professor Laura Starks, Seay Regents Chair of Finance, McCombs School of Business, The University of Texas at Austin; and Professor Marcel Kahan, George T. Lowy Professor of Law, New York University School of Law.

The new Research Members, listed below, will be eligible to publish their academic work on corporate governance and stewardship in the ECGI Working Paper Series (Law and Finance). The series is known for its reliable content, global outlook, and interdisciplinary nature. It is used by scholars, practitioners and policymakers alike to help shape informed views and debates on a wide range of global topics. A list of all ECGI Research Members is available here.

The membership structure of ECGI includes both institutions and individuals on a subscription basis, however only Research Members are entitled to distribute their work to the network. A further tier is the honorific title of Fellow. Fellows are elected by the existing Fellows. ECGI currently elects five Fellows every two years. Previously appointed Fellows include Nobel Laureates Jean Tirole, Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmström.

Speaking about the new appointments, Professor Per Strömberg, said “ECGI has a long established network of leading academics from around the world. With these latest appointments, ECGI is strengthening that network by appointing scholars with exceptional records who continue to produce interesting and quality work on corporate governance and stewardship. I look forward to seeing the new Research Members’ contribution to the continued success of ECGI.”

The research work of ECGI Research Members, relating to corporate governance and stewardship, is published in the ECGI working Paper Series which is accessible here.


ECGI Research Member Appointments  - April 2019:

Philippe Aghion Professor of Economics London School of Economics and College de France
Jennifer Arlen Professor New York University Law
Ramin Baghai Associate Professor of Finance Stockholm School of Economics
Michal Barzuza Professor Virginial School of Law
Alma Cohen Professor of Empirical Practice Harvard Law School and Tel Aviv University
Robert M.  Daines Pritzker Professor of Law and Business, Associate Dean, and Senior Faculty Rock Center on Corporate Governance at Stanford
Isil Erel David A. Rismiller Chair in Finance Ohio State University
Nuno  Fernandes Professor of Finance Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics, Universidade Católica Portuguesa
Sang Yop Kang Professor (Full, Tenured) Peking University
Kon Sik Kim Professor of Law Seoul National University School of Law
Nadya Malenko Associate Professor of Finance Boston College
Boris Nikolov Professor of Finance University of Lausanne
Øyvind Norli Professor of Finance BI Norwegian Business School
Frederik Schlingemann Professor of Finance and H. R. & Betty Young Faculty Fellow in Finance University of Pittsburgh
Steven Solomon Professor University of California, Berkeley
Oliver Spalt Professor of Finance Tilburg University
Fei Xie Associate Professor of Finance & Iannaccone Faculty Fellow University of Delaware