Skip to main content


Wei Jiang is Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Finance at Emory University's Goizueta Business School. She is also a Senior Fellow at the Program on Corporate Governance at Harvard Law School, a Research Associate of the NBER (Law and Economics, and Corporate Finance) and a member of the Committee on Capital Market Regulation. She is currently the President of the Society of Financial Studies (SFS).

Professor Jiang's main research interests lie in corporate governance, institutional investors, technology and financial markets. She has published extensively in top economics, finance, and law journals, and her research has been frequently featured in major media, including the Wall Street Journal, Economist, Institutional Investors, Money, Fortune, Business Week, New York Times and Financial Times. She received numerous awards for research excellence, including the Smith-Breeden and DFA Distinguished Paper Prizes from the Journal of Finance, the Michael J. Brennan Best Paper Award from the Review of Financial Studies, and the Jensen Prize from the Journal of Financial Economics, as well as the best paper prizes from the Western Finance Association, Chicago Quantitative Alliance, UK Inquire, the Q-Group, and the IRRC Institute. Previously she served as an editor of the Review of Financial Studies, a Finance Department Editor at Management Science and an Associate Editor at the Journal of Finance.

Professor Jiang has taught courses in Corporate Finance, Corporate Governance, Activist Investing, Empirical Methods in Finance Research, and Panel Data Econometrics in the Master, MBA/EMBA, and Ph.D. programs, and has received numerous teaching excellence awards. She was the Vice Dean for Curriculum and Instruction at Columbia Business School from 2016 to 2019.

Professor Jiang graduated from Fudan University (China) with B.A. and M.A. in economics. She received her Ph.D. in economics from the University of Chicago in 2001, and joined Columbia Business School in the same year. She was the Arthur F. Burns Professor of Free and Competitive Enterprise until 2022.

Working Papers



Scroll to Top