Skip to main content

Click here to visit the Global Corporate Governance Colloquia (GCGC) website

Click here to download the programme (long version here).

*** This event was strictly by invitation only ***


The fifth annual GCGC Conference was hosted by the Research Center SAFE (Sustainable Architecture for Finance in Europe) at the House of Finance, Goethe University Frankfurt on 7– 8 June 2019. The Global Corporate Governance Colloquia (GCGC) is a global initiative to bring together the best research in law, economics and finance relating to corporate governance at a yearly conference held at 12 leading universities in the Americas, Asia and Europe. The 12 hosting institutions are:

Columbia University,  Goethe University Frankfurt,  Harvard University,  London Business School,  National University of Singapore,  Peking University,  Seoul National University,  Stanford University,  Swedish House of Finance,  University of Oxford,  University of Tokyo  and  Yale University.

The aim of the conference series is to attract current research papers of the highest scholarly quality in the field of corporate governance. The conferences are primarily ‘academic to academic’ events with some participants from industry and the public sector including the practitioner partners of GCGC and other invited panelists. The current practitioner partners are the European Investment Bank (EIB),  Zurich Insurance Group,  and  Japan Exchange Group (JPX).


Day 1: Friday 7 June


Session 1: Session Chair- Elisabeth Bechtold


Coffee Break

Session 2: Session Chair- Kon Sik Kim


Lunch Break

Session 3: Session Chair- Gen Goto


Coffee Break

Session 4: Session Chair- Ron Gilson


Reception & Dinner

Day 2: Saturday 8 June



Session 1: Session Chair- Qiao Liu


Coffee Break

Session 2: Session Chair- Theodor Baums


Lunch Break

Session Chair- Theodor Baums


Coffee Break

Session 3: Session Chair- Holger Spamann


Lucian Bebchuk

James Barr Ames Professor of Law, Economics, and Finance
Harvard Law School
Fellow, Research Member

Vicente Cuñat

Associate Professor
Department of Finance, London School of Economics
Research Member

Merritt Fox

Arthur Levitt Professor of Law
Columbia Law School
Research Member

Woochan Kim

Professor of Finance
Korea University Business School
Research Member

Dan Puchniak

Singapore Management University, Yong Pung How School of Law
Research Member

Yupana Wiwattanakantang

Associate professor, Department of Finance
NUS Business School, National University of Singapore
Research Member

Kathryn Judge

Harvey J. Goldschmid Professor of Law
Columbia Law School
Research Member

Jennifer G. Hill

Bob Baxt AO Chair in Corporate and Commercial Law
Monash University
Research Member

René Stulz

Everett D. Reese Chair of Banking and Monetary Economics
The Ohio State University
Fellow, Research Member

Uwe Walz

Full Professor of Economics
Goethe University Frankfurt and CFS/ SAFE Frankfurt
Research Member


Elaine McPartlan
European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI)
Scroll to Top