Skip to main content

The ECGI's seventh General Assembly took place on Friday 17 April 2009 at the Chambre de commerce et d'industrie de Paris. The Annual Lecture was given by Professor Franklin Allen, Nippon Life Professor of Finance and Economics at the The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania and ECGI Fellow. His presentation "Corporate governance and the current crisis" and the panel discussion that followed were conducted under the Chatham House rule.

The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize was won by Xavier Giroud, New York University, Holger Mueller, New York University, CEPR and ECGI with:

Corporate Governance, Product Market Competition, and Equity Prices (ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 219/2008)

The Law Prize was won by John Armour, University of Oxford and ECGI, Simon Deakin, University of Cambridge and ECGI, Prabirjit Sarkar, Jadavpur University, Mathias Siems, University of East Anglia, Ajit Singh, University of Cambridge with:

Shareholder Protection and Stock Market Development: An Empirical Test of the Legal Origins Hypothesis (ECGI Law Working Paper No. 108/2008)



16 April - Day 1

Dinner at Drugstore Publicis – Le Marcel and Presentation of the 2009 ECGI Working Paper Series Prizes

17 April - Day 2

Annual General Meeting of the ECGI - Chambre de Commerce et d'Industrie, Paris




David Frick

Secretary to the Board, Head of Governance, Compliance & Corporate Services
Nestlé S.A.
Representative Member

Franklin Allen

Professor of Finance and Economics
Imperial College Business School, Brevan Howard Centre
Fellow, Research Member

Javier Arias

Head Representative to the EU
Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria
Practitioner Member

Guido Ferrarini

Professor of Business Law and Capital Markets Law
University of Genoa
Fellow, Research Member


Elaine McPartlan
European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI)
Scroll to Top