Skip to main content

The ECGI's fourth General Assembly took place on Thursday 9 March 2006 at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich. It was followed by a keynote speech "Corporate Governance and Behavioural Finance" given by Professor René Stulz and an Oxford Union-style debate on the motion “This House believes that company top executives should be paid like government ministers”.

See a guide to Oxford Union debates and a brief history of the Union.

The Egon Zehnder International Prize was won by Renee Adams, Assistant Professor, Department of Finance and SITE, Stockholm School of Economics and an ECGI Research Associate, and Daniel Ferreira, Assistant Professor of Finance, Universidade Nova de Lisboa and an ECGI Research Associate with:

A Theory of Friendly Boards (ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 100/2005)

The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize was won by Patrick Bolton, Barbara and David Zalaznick Professor of Business, Columbia Business School and an ECGI Fellow, José Scheinkman, Charles and Lynn Zhang Professor of Economics, Columbia University and Wei Xiong, Professor of Economics Princeton University with:

Pay for Short-Term Performance: Executive Compensation in Speculative Markets (ECGI Finance Working Paper No.079/2005)

The De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek Law Prize was won by Ronald Gilson, Charles J. Meyers Professor of Law and Business Stanford Law School and Marc and Eva Stern Professor of Law and Business, Columbia U. School of Law and an ECGI Fellow with:

Controlling Shareholders and Corporate Governance: Complicating the Comparative Taxonomy (ECGI Law Working Paper No. 049/2005)


9 March 2006

Annual General Meeting - Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich


Open Meeting - Introduction by Professor Dimos Poulikakos

Dinner in the Dozentenfoyer and Presentation of the 2006 ECGI Working Paper Series Prizes


René Stulz

Everett D. Reese Chair of Banking and Monetary Economics
The Ohio State University
Fellow, Research Member

Reinier Kraakman

Ezra Ripley Thayer Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Fellow, Research Member

Marco Becht

Professor of Finance and the Goldschmidt Professor of Corporate Governance
Solvay Brussels School for Economics and Management, Université libre de Bruxelles
Fellow, Research Member


Elaine McPartlan
European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI)
Scroll to Top