Skip to main content


Thursday, 15 April 2021 | 12:00 - 14:20 EDT (18:00 - 20:20 CEST) 

Friday, 16 April 2021 | 12:00 - 14:00 EDT (18:00 - 20:00 CEST)


Organised by

Michelle Lowry (Drexel University and ECGI)


Supported by


Download the programme



Since 2008, the Annual Corporate Governance Conference at Drexel University, hosted by the Gupta Governance Institute, has highlighted top academic research. The research is accepted for the conference when it is in its early stages and much of it is subsequently published in the most highly regarded research journals. Within a decade, the conference has had 84% of presented papers subsequently published (64% in top 3 journals) and it has become a key event of the finance research calendar.

The conference featured theoretical and empirical research related to corporate governance. It included but was not restricted to, topics such as Boards of Directors, compensation, shareholder activism, mergers, debt as a form of governance, ESG-related issues, political influences on governance, and more. The programme committee, which includes a number of ECGI Research Members, comprises: Renee Adams; Jeffrey Coles; Diane Del Guerico; David Denis; Diane Denis; Laura Field; Nick Gantchev; Todd Gormley; Tom Griffin; Jarrad Harford; Peter Iliev; Wei Jiang; Dalida Kadyrzanova; Jonathan Karpoff; Nadya Malenko; Kevin Murphy; Lalitha Naveen; Micah Officer; Gordon Phillips; Anil Shivdasani; Anh Tran; Michael S. Weisbach; Jared Wilson; Tracie Woidtke; Yuhai Xuan; Ke Yang; and David L. Yermack.

The conference was organised by Michelle Lowry, TD Bank Endowed Professor of Finance, Academic Director of the Gupta Governance Institute, Associate Editor of the Journal of Financial Economics, and ECGI Research Member. ECGI is honoured to be associated with this event in 2021.

Wharton Research Data Services generously provides sponsorship for the conference, including offering a $1,000 best paper prize which will be voted on during the conference.



Thursday April 15th, 2021 | 12:00 EDT (18:00 CET)

New Ideas Session


Paper Conclusion (Optional Break-out Rooms with Authors)

Friday April 16th, 2021 | 12:00 EDT (18:00 CET)


Paper Conclusion (Optional Break-out Rooms with Authors)


Itzhak Ben-David

Professor of Finance, Neil Klatskin Chair in Finance and Real Estate Academic Director of the OSU Center for Real Estate
The Ohio State University Fisher College of Business

Zacharias Sautner

Professor of Sustainable Finance
University of Zurich and Swiss Finance Institute
Research Member

Nadya Malenko

Professor of Finance and Wargo Family Faculty Fellow
Boston College, Carroll School of Management
Research Member

Audra Boone

Professor of Finance
Texas Christian University
Research Member

Ian Appel

Associate Professor
University of Virginia (Darden)
Research Member

Michelle Lowry

TD Bank Professor of Finance; Academic Director of Gupta Governance Institute
Drexel University
Research Member

Marco Becht

Professor of Finance and the Goldschmidt Professor of Corporate Governance
Solvay Brussels School for Economics and Management, Université libre de Bruxelles
Fellow, Research Member


Elaine McPartlan
European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI)
Scroll to Top