The Governance of Certification Agents

PUBLIC LECTURE SERIES ON CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

The Governance of Certification Agents

  • 01 February 2024
  • Online

The Institute for Corporate Governance Public Lecture Series:

“The Governance of Certification Agents”

Jess Cornaggia (Smeal College of Business, Penn State University)

Thursday, 1 February 2024

12:00 – 13:15 EST | 18:00 – 19:15 CET

Organised by

Jun Yang (Kelley School of Business, Indiana University)
 

About the Event:

Professor Jess Cornaggia (Smeal College of Business, Penn State University) presented the twenty-first lecture in this series on 1 February 2024.

Certification agents play an important role in the economy because investors rely on them when making decisions about capital allocation. Such certification agents include credit rating agencies, proxy advisors, and ESG raters. This lecture will discuss the basic governance structures of selected certification agencies, including a discussion of their commonalities and differences. It will discuss the conflicts of interest they face, how such conflicts of interest can be managed, and how these characteristics affect their usefulness to investors.

The public lecture series is organised by Institute for Corporate Governance (ICG) in partnership with the Ostrom Workshop at Indiana University and ECGI.

THURSDAY, 01 FEBRUARY 2024 | 12:00 EST (18:00 CET)

12:05

Lecture: "The Governance of Certification Agents"

Speakers:
Back to full programme

Lecture: "The Governance of Certification Agents"

Time:
12:05h

Speakers

Speakers

Presentations

Back to all presentations

Lecture: "The Governance of Certification Agents"

Time:
12:05h

Speakers