2021 Prize winners

2021 Prize winners

With the generous support of the European Corporate Governance Research Foundation and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Aberdeen Standard Investments (2005-2020), Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2022 | 2021 |  2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the two prizes in the 2021 Working Paper Competition were awarded at ECGI's Annual Members' Meeting which took place on 28 October 2021, online.


    The ECGI Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the European Corporate Governance Research Foundation       

    The winning paper:

    Risk Mitigating versus Risk Shifting: Evidence from Banks Security Trading in Crises 

    ECGI Finance Working Paper 713/2020

    The authors of this paper are José-Luis Peydró (Imperial College London and CEPR), Andrea Polo  (Luiss University, EIEF, CEPR and ECGI) and Enrico Sette (Bank of Italy)


    The Cleary Gottlieb Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP.

    The winning paper:

    The Global Diffusion of Stewardship Codes

    ECGI Law Working Paper 526/2020

    The authors of this paper are Dionysia Katelouzou (King's College London) and Mathias Siems (European University Institute and ECGI)