2020 Prize winners

2020 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2021 | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the two prizes in the 2020 Working Paper Competition will be awarded at ECGI's Annual Members' Meeting scheduled to take place at the Stockholm School of Economics on 15 October 2020.

    The Aberdeen Standard Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the global asset manager, Aberdeen Standard Investments.

    The winning paper:

    Picking Friends Before Picking (Proxy) Fights: How Mutual Fund Voting Shapes Proxy Contests

    ECGI Finance Working Paper 601/2019

    The authors of this paper are Alon Brav (Duke University and ECGI), Wei Jiang (Columbia University and ECGI), Tao Li (University of Florida), James Pinnington (Duke University) 


    The Cleary Gottlieb Steen Hamilton Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice, Cleary Gottlieb Steen Hamilton.

    The winning paper:

    The Grip of Nationalism on Corporate Law

    ECGI Law Working Paper 437/2019

    The author of this paper is Mariana Pargendler (FGV Law School in São Paulo and ECGI)