2019 Prize winners

2019 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2021 | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the two prizes in the 2019 Working Paper Competition will be awarded at ECGI's Annual Members' Meeting taking place at IESE Barcelona on 24 October 2019.

    The Aberdeen Standard Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the global asset manager, Aberdeen Standard Investments.

    The winning paper:

    Investor Ideology 

    ECGI Finance Working Paper 557/2018

    The authors of this paper are Patrick Bolton (Columbia University and ECGI), Tao Li (Universtiy of Florida), Enrichetta Ravina (Northwestern University), Howard Rosenthal (New York University)


    The Cleary Gottlieb Steen Hamilton Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice, Cleary Gottlieb Steen Hamilton.

    The winning paper:

    Index Funds and the Future of Corporate Governance: Theory, Evidence, and Policy 

    ECGI Law Working Paper 433/2018

    The authors of this paper are Lucian Bebchuk (Harvard Law School, NBER, CEPR and ECGI), and Scott Hirst (Boston University, Harvard Law School)