2011 Prize winners

2011 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2021 | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the two prizes in the 2011 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's General Assembly held in Amsterdam on 8 April 2011.


    The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the leading investment company Standard Life Investments.         

    The winning paper:

    Yesterday’s Heroes: Compensation and Creative Risk-Taking

    ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 285/2010

    The winning authors of this paper are Ing-Haw Cheng, University of Michigan (Ross), Harrison Hong, Princeton University and NBER, Jose Scheinkman, Princeton University and NBER

    The presentation was made by Guy Jubb, Head of Governance and Stewardship at Standard Life Investments.



    The Allen & Overy Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice Allen & Overy.

    The winning paper:

    Different Approaches to Corporate Reporting Regulation: How Jurisdictions Differ and Why

    ECGI Law Working Paper No. 156/2010

    The winning authors of this paper is Christian Leuz, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business, Wharton Financial Institutions Center, NBER and ECGI

    The presentation was made by Marc Feider, Senior Partner at Allen & Overy Luxembourg.