2010 Prize winners

2010 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2021 | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the two prizes in the 2010 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's General Assembly held in Luxembourg on 6 May 2010.


    The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the leading investment company, Standard Life Investments.

    The winning paper:

    Subprime Crisis and Board (In-)Competence: Private vs. Public Banks in Germany

    ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 247/2009

    The authors of this paper are Harald Hau from INSEAD and Marcel Thum from TU Dresden, Ifo Dresden and CESifo.


    The Allen & Overy Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice, Allen & Overy.

    The winning paper:

    How Do Legal Rules Evolve? Evidence from a Cross-Country Comparison of Shareholder, Creditor and Worker Protection

    ECGI Law Working Paper No. 129/2009

    The authors of this paper are John Armour from the University of Oxford, Simon Deakin and Priya Lele from the University of Cambridge, and Mathias Siems from the University of East Anglia (UEA) and University of Cambridge.