2007 Prize winners

2007 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2021 | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the three prizes in the 2007 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's General Assembly held at the Institute for Law and Finance, Johann Wolfgang Goethe University Frankfurt on 19 April 2007.


    The Egon Zehnder International Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in either series on company boards and their role in corporate governance is sponsored by the international executive search firm, Egon Zehnder International.

    The winning paper:

    Independent Directors and Stock Market Prices: The New Corporate Governance Paradigm

    ECGI Law Working Paper No. 074/2006

    The author of this paper is Jeffrey N. Gordon, Alfred W. Bressler Professor of Law, Columbia Law School and ECGI


    The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the leading investment company, Standard Life Investments.            

    The winning paper:

    Benefits and Costs of Control-Enhancing Mechanisms in U.S. Family Firms

    ECGI Finance Working Paper No.131/2006

    The authors of these papers are Professor Belen Villalonga, Finance Unit, Harvard Business School and Professor Raphael Amit, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania


    The De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the independent international law firm, De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek

    The winning paper:

    Hedge Funds in Corporate Governance and Corporate Control

    ECGI Law Working Paper No. 076/2006

    The authors of this paper are Professor Marcel Kahan, School of Law, New York University and Professor Edward Rock, School of Law, University of Pennsylvania