Skip to main content

ECGI is delighted to announce the appointment of 56 new research members to add to its distinguished ranks. The new research members, who are drawn from academia in Europe, the United Kingdom, North America, the Middle East, and Asia were admitted on the quality of their academic work in the field of corporate governance. The committee responsible for the selection is currently chaired by Professor Ernst Maug, Professor of Corporate Finance, University of Mannheim Business School. Also on the committee are; Professors Jens Dammann, Professor in Law, The University of Texas, Laura Field, Donald J. Puglisi Professor of Finance, University of Delaware, and Geneviève Helleringer, Professor of Law, ESSEC Business School and University of Oxford.

The new research members, listed below, will be eligible to publish their academic work on corporate governance and stewardship in the ECGI Working Paper Series (Law and Finance). The series is known for its reliable content, global outlook, and interdisciplinary nature. It is used by scholars, practitioners and policymakers alike to help shape informed views and debates on a wide range of global topics. A list of all ECGI research members is available here.

The membership structure of ECGI includes both Institutions and individuals on a subscription basis, however only research members are entitled to distribute their work to the network. A further tier is the honorific title of Fellow. Fellows are elected by the existing Fellows. Previously elected Fellows include Nobel Laureates Jean Tirole, Oliver Hart, Bengt Holmström, and Douglas Diamond.

Speaking about the new appointments, Professor Ernst Maug, said:

“ECGI is a unique platform where global scholars from mixed disciplines can publish their work and interact with each other and with experienced practitioners to identify and study the challenges faced by corporations, investors and society. The latest appointments will contribute to this global dialogue by capturing even more of the research being conducted in this field around the world, while maintaining the high standards that are synonymous with ECGI.”

The research work of ECGI research members, relating to corporate governance and stewardship, is published in the ECGI working Paper Series which is accessible here.

ECGI Research Member Appointments  - January 2023:

  • Afra Afsharipour                  Martin Luther King, Jr. Professor of Law, University of California, Davis School of Law
  • Pat Akey                              Associate Professor, University of Toronto
  • Mario Daniele Amore          Assistant Professor, Bocconi University
  • Ian Appel                             Associate Professor, University of Virginia (Darden)
  • José Azar                            Associate Professor, University of Navarra
  • Kee-Hong Bae                    Professor of Finance, York University
  • Rob Bauer                          Professor of Finance (Chair Institutional Investors), Maastricht University
  • Christopher Bruner             Stembler Family Distinguished Professor in Business Law, University of Georgia School of Law
  • Mary Ellen Carter                Professor of Accounting, Boston College
  • Albert Choi                          Professor, University of Michigan
  • Stephen Choi                      Bernard Petrie Professor of Law and Business, New York University Law School
  • Douglas Cumming              DeSantis Distinguished Professor, Florida Atlantic University
  • Quinn Curtis                        The Honorable Albert V. Bryan Jr. ’50 Research Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law
  • Giuseppe Dari Mattiacci      Professor, University of Amsterdam
  • Dhammika Dharmapala      Paul H. and Theo Leffmann Professor of Commercial Law, University of Chicago
  • Alberta Di Giuli                    Professor, ESCP Business School
  • Miguel Duro                         Associate Professor, IESE Business School
  • Alexander Dyck                   Professor of Finance, University of Toronto, Rotman School of Management
  • Florian Ederer                      Associate Professor of Economics, Yale University
  • Ofer Eldar                            Professor of Law, Economics and Finance, Duke University
  • Yonca Ertimur                      Acting Dean, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Eliezer Fich                         Trustee Professor of Finance, Drexel University
  • Caroline Flammer                Professor of International and Public Affairs and of Climate, Columbia University
  • Cristie Ford                          Professor, University of British Columbia, Peter A. Allard School of Law
  • Stavros Gadinis                   Professor, University of California, Berkeley
  • Matteo Gatti                         Professor of Law, Rutgers Law School
  • Andrey Golubov                   Associate Professor of Finance, University of Toronto
  • Virginia Harper Ho               Professor, School of Law, City University of Hong Kong
  • Scott Hirst                            Associate Professor, Boston University
  • Florian Hoffmann                 Associate Professor of Finance, KU Leuven
  • Cathy Hwang                       Barron F. Black Research Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law
  • Dirk Jenter                           Professor of Finance, The London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Kobi Kastiel                         Associate Professor of Law, Tel Aviv University 
  • Ugur Lel                              Associate Professor, Nalley Chair in Finance, University of Georgia
  • Xi Li                                     Associate Professor, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Lin Lin                                 Associate Professor, National University of Singapore
  • Lauren Yu-Hsin Lin             Associate Professor of Law, City University of Hong Kong
  • Tingting Liu                         Associate Professor of Finance, Iowa State University 
  • Dorothy Lund                      Associate Professor of Law, USC Gould School of Law
  • Andrey Malenko                 Associate Professor of Finance, University of Michigan
  • Yaron Nili                            Associate Professor of Law and Smith-Rowe Faculty Fellow in Business Law, University of Wisconsin Law School
  • Micah Officer                      Professor, Loyola Marymount University
  • Marcus Opp                        Professor, Stockholm School of Economics
  • Adriana Robertson             Donald N. Pritzker Professor of Business Law, University of Chicago
  • Markus Schmid                   Professor of Finance, University of St. Gallen and Swiss Finance Institute (SFI)
  • Matthew Serfling                 Associate Professor of Finance, University of Tennessee - Knoxville
  • Roy Shapira                        Associate Professor, Reichman (IDC)
  • Roger Silvers                      Assistant Professor, Accounting, University of Utah
  • Christina (Parajon) Skinner Assistant Professor (Legal Studies and Business Ethics department), The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania 
  • Andrew Tuch                       Professor of Law, Washington University in St Louis School of Law
  • Tracy Wang                         John Spooner Professor of Finance, University of Minnesota
  • Charles Wang                     Associate Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School
  • Yesha Yadav                       Professor of Law and Milton R. Underwood Chair, Vanderbilt Law School
  • Tina Yang                            Associate Professor, University of South Florida
  • Jun Yang                             Professor, Indiana University
  • Shan Zhao                          Associate Professor of Finance, City University of Hong Kong

More News

Scroll to Top