Skip to main content

ECGI is delighted to announce the appointment of 50 new research members to add to its global research network. The new research members, who are drawn from academia in Europe, the United Kingdom, North America, the Middle East, Asia and the rest of the world were admitted on the quality of their academic work in the field of corporate governance and stewardship. The committee responsible for the selection is currently chaired by Professor Laura Starks, Charles E. and Sarah M. Seay Regents Chair of Finance, Chairman of the Department of Finance, and Director of the AIM Investment Center in the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas. Also on the committee are Professor Marcel Kahan, George T. Lowy Professor of Law, New York University School of Law; and Professor Ernst Maug, Professor of Corporate Finance, University of Mannheim Business School. 

The new research members, listed below, will be eligible to publish their academic work on corporate governance and stewardship in the ECGI Working Paper Series (Law and Finance). The series is known for its reliable content, global outlook, and interdisciplinary nature. It is used by scholars, practitioners and policymakers alike to help shape informed views and debates on a wide range of global topics. A list of all ECGI research members is available here.

The membership structure of ECGI includes both institutions and individuals on a subscription basis, however only research members are entitled to distribute their work to the network. A further tier is the honorific title of Fellow. Fellows are elected by the existing Fellows. ECGI currently elects five Fellows every two years. Previously appointed Fellows include Nobel Laureates Jean Tirole, Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmström.

Speaking about the new appointments, Professor Laura Starks, said: 

“ECGI is a unique platform where global scholars from mixed disciplines can publish their work and interact with each other and with experienced practitioners to identify and study the challenges faced by corporations, investors and society. The latest appointments will enrich this platform, while also contributing to ECGI’s ongoing efforts to improve the diversity of its research network. I look forward to seeing the new research members’ contribution to this increasingly important forum.”

The research work of ECGI research members, relating to corporate governance and stewardship, is published in the ECGI working Paper Series which is accessible here.

ECGI Research Member Appointments  - January 2021:

  • Anat Admati                         George G.C. Parker Professor of Finance and Economics, Stanford University
  • Emilios  Avgouleas             Chair in International Banking Law & Finance  School of Law, University of Edinburgh
  • Audra Boone                        Professor, Texas Christian University
  • Laura Bottazzi                      Professor, Bologna university and IGIER-Bocconi
  • Christa Bouwman               Associate Professor of Finance and Patricia & Bookman Peters Professor of Finance, Texas A&M University
  • Anthony Casey                    Professor of Law, The University of Chicago Law School
  • Sudipto Dasgupta                Professor, Department of Finance, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Vivian Fang                           Associate Professor, University of Minnesota
  • Fabrizio Ferri                         Associate Professor, University of Miami
  • Laura Field                          Donald J. Puglisi Professor of Finance, University of Delaware
  • Beatriz Garcia Osma            Professor of Accounting and Financial Economics, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
  • Edith Ginglinger                    Professor of Finance, Université Paris-Dauphine, PSL
  • Christian Gollier                    Professor and Director, Toulouse School of Economics
  • Takeo Hoshi                          Professor of Economics, The University of Tokyo
  • Cally Jordan                         Associate Professor, Melbourne Law School
  • Kathleen Kahle                     Thomas Moses Professor in Finance, University of Arizona
  • Jonathan Karpoff                   Professor of Finance and the Washington Mutual Endowed Chair in Innovation, University of Washington
  • Vikramaditya Khanna            William W. Cook Professor of Law, University of Michigan Law School
  • April Klein                               Professor, New York University
  • Yrjo Koskinen                          Professor of Finance, University of Calgary
  • Philipp Krueger                      Associate Professor of Finance, University of Geneva & Swiss Finance Institute
  • Lalitha Naveen                       Associate Professor, Temple University
  • Katja Langenbucher              Professor of Law, Goethe University, Frankfurt, Germany
  • Kai Li                                       W.M. Young Professor of Finance, University of British Columbia, Sauder School of Business
  • Michelle Lowry                      TD Bank Professor of Finance; Academic Director of Gupta Governance Institute Drexel University
  • Roni Michaely                         SFI Professor of Finance, University of Geneva
  • John Morley                            Professor of Law, Yale Law School
  • Federico Mucciarelli              Full Professor, University of Modena & Reggio Emilia
  • Lilian Ng                                   Scotiabank Chair in International Finance, York University
  • Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi    Professor of Finance, University of Mannheim
  • Fernando Penalva                   Professor of Accounting IESE Business School, University of Navarra
  • Elizabeth Pollman                   Professor of Law, University of Pennsylvania Law School
  • Dan Puchniak                          Associate Professor, National University of Singapore, Faculty of Law
  • Manju Puri                               J.B. Fuqua Professor of Finance, Duke university
  • Ian Ramsay                               Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor, University of Melbourne
  • Enrichetta Ravina                   Senior Economist, Research Department, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
  • Lucrezia Reichlin                     Professor of Economics, London Business School
  • Lukas Roth                               Associate Professor of Finance, University of Alberta
  • Maribel Saez Lacave              Associate Professor of Law, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
  • Miriam Schwartz-Ziv              Assistant Professor of Finance, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Merih Sevilir                             Associate Professor of Finance, Indiana University Kelley School of Business
  • Robert Sitkoff                          John L. Gray Professor of Law, Harvard University
  • Johan Sulaeman                     Associate Professor of Finance, National University of Singapore
  • Eric Talley                                Isidor & Seville Sulzbacher Professor, Columbia University
  • Margarita Tsoutsoura            Associate Professor, Cornell University
  • Umakanth Varottil                  Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore
  • Vikrant Vig                              Professor of Finance, London Business School
  • Susan Watson                          Professor of Law, University of Auckland
  • Michelle  Welsh                     Professor and Head of Department, Monash University
  • Xiaoyun Yu                              Professor of Finance, Indiana University Kelley School of Business

More News

Scroll to Top