Skip to main content

Watch the Video Presentations here.

Global Corporate Governance Colloquium 2023

The ninth annual GCGC Conference was hosted by Seoul National University on 16 -17 June 2023 in Seoul, South Korea.

Friday, 16 June 2023
08:45 - 18:00 KST (01:45 - 11:00 CEST)

Saturday, 17 June 2023
09:00 - 18:00 KST (02:00 - 11:00 CEST)

Seoul National University, Seoul, South Korea


The Global Corporate Governance Colloquia (GCGC) is a global initiative to bring together the best research in law, economics, and finance relating to corporate governance at a yearly conference held at 12 leading universities in the Americas, Asia and Europe. The 12 hosting institutions are:

Columbia University,  Harvard University,  Imperial College London,  National University of Singapore,  Peking University,  Seoul National University,  Stanford University,  Stockholm University,  University of Oxford,  University of Tokyo, Yale University and Goethe University Frankfurt (Leibniz Institute for Financial Research SAFE and DFG LawFin Center).

The aim of the conference series was to attract current research papers of the highest scholarly quality in the field of corporate governance. The conferences are primarily 'academic to academic' events with some participants from industry and the public sector including the practitioner partners of GCGC and other invited panelists. Japan Exchange Group (JPX) is a Practitioner Partner.

Note: This was an invitation-only event





Friday, 16 June 2023 08:45 KST (01:45 CEST)


Coffee break

Lunch Break

Coffee break

Session 4

Day 1 Concludes

Reception & Dinner

Saturday, 17 June 2023 09:00 KST (02:00 CEST)


Coffee break

Lunch break

Session 7

Coffee break

Concluding remarks and Reception


Eilis Ferran

Professor of Company and Securities Law
University of Cambridge Law Faculty and Centre for Corporate and Commercial Law (3CL)
Fellow, Research Member

Woochan Kim

Professor of Finance
Korea University Business School
Research Member

Yaron Nili

Professor of Law
Duke University School of Law
Research Member

Holger Spamann

Lawrence R. Grove Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Research Member

Charles Wang

Tandon Family Professor of Business Administration
Harvard Business School
Research Member

Yupana Wiwattanakantang

Associate professor, Department of Finance
NUS Business School, National University of Singapore
Research Member

Dan Puchniak

Singapore Management University, Yong Pung How School of Law
Research Member

Eric Talley

Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law
Columbia Law School
Research Member

Geeyoung Min

Assistant Professor of Law
Michigan State University College of Law

Pedro Matos

James A. & Stacy Cooper Bicentennial Professor of Business Administration (Finance)
Darden School of Business, University of Virginia
Research Member

Martin Schmalz

Professor of Finance, Economics, and Real Estate
University of Oxford Saïd Business School
Research Member

Woojin Kim

Professor of Finance
Seoul National University Business School
Research Member

Umakanth Varottil

Professor of Law
Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore
Research Member

Luh Luh Lan

Associate Professor
National University of Singapore
Research Member

Jennifer G. Hill

Bob Baxt AO Chair in Corporate and Commercial Law
Monash University
Research Member

Tobias Tröger

Professor of Private Law, Commercial and Business Law
Leibniz Institute SAFE, Goethe University Frankfurt, House of Finance
Research Member

Marco Becht

Professor of Finance and the Goldschmidt Professor of Corporate Governance
Solvay Brussels School for Economics and Management, Université libre de Bruxelles
Fellow, Research Member

Adriana Robertson

Donald N. Pritzker Professor of Business Law
University of Chicago
Research Member

Takeo Hoshi

Professor of Economics
The University of Tokyo
Research Member

Johan Sulaeman

Dean’s Chair and Associate Professor of Finance, NUS Business School
National University of Singapore
Research Member

Sang Yop Kang

Peking University, School of Transnational Law
Research Member


Elaine McPartlan
European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI)
Scroll to Top