National Stock Exchange of India

National Stock Exchange of India

Institutional Member
Real name: 
Institutional Member
Chief Economist
National Stock Exchange of India Limited (NSE)

The National Stock Exchange (NSE) is the leading stock exchange in India and the fourth largest in the world by equity trading volume in 2015, according to World Federation of Exchanges (WFE).It began operations in 1994 and is ranked as the largest stock exchange in India in terms of total and average daily turnover for equity shares every year since 1995, based on annual reports of SEBI.

Recognizing the important role that stock exchanges play in enhancing corporate governance (CG) standards, NSE has organized new initiatives relating to CG. To encourage best standards of CG among the Indian corporates and to keep them abreast of the emerging and existing issues, in December, 2012, NSE set up a Centre for Excellence in Corporate Governance (NSE CECG), which is an independent expert advisory body comprising eminent domain experts, academics and practitioners. The expert body discuss CG issues and development from time to time. The ‘Quarterly Briefing’, a note that offers an analysis of one emerging or existing CG issue, is a product emerging from these discussions.

The Advisory Committee Members of NSE CECG are:

Ashok Sinha Independent Director, CMC Ltd.
Deepak M. Satwalekar Former MD & CEO, HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Ltd.
N Balasubramanian Adjunct Faculty, IIM-A and IIM-B
Nawshir Mirza Professional Independent Director
Sharad Abhyankar  Commercial Lawyer and M&A Partner, Khaitan & Co.
Subrata Sarkar   Professor, IGIDR
Umakanth Varottil   Assistant Professor, National University of Singapore
Vikramaditya Khanna Professor, University of Michigan Law School

Our Team

Codes adopted