2008 Prize winners

2008 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2021 | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the three prizes in the 2008 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's General Assembly held at the IESE Business School, Barcelona, on 10 April 2008.


    The Egon Zehnder International Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in either series on company boards and their role in corporate governance is sponsored by the international executive search firm, Egon Zehnder International.

    The winning paper:

    Board Structure and Price Informativeness

    ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 160/2007

    The authors of this paper are Daniel Ferreira, London School of Economics, CEPR and ECGI, Miguel Ferreira, ISCTE Business School and Clara Raposo, ISCTE Business School


    The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the leading investment company, Standard Life Investments.

    The winning paper:

    Agency Conflicts, Investment, and Asset Pricing

    ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 167/2007

    The authors of this paper are Rui Albuquerque, Boston University, CEPR and ECGI and Neng Wang Columbia Business School


    The De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the independent international law firm, De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek

    The winning paper:

    The Promise and Peril of Corporate Governance Indices

    ECGI Law Working Paper No. 089/2007

    The authors of this paper are Sanjai Bhagat, University of Colorado at Boulder, Leeds School of Business, Brian Bolton, University of New Hampshire, Whittemore School of Business & Economics and Roberta Romano, Yale Law School, NBER.