2006 Prize winners

2006 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2021 | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the three prizes in the 2006 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's General Assembly held at ETH Zurich on 9 March 2006.


    The Egon Zehnder International Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in either series on company boards and their role in corporate governance is sponsored by the international executive search firm, Egon Zehnder International.

    The winning paper:

    A Theory of Friendly Boards

    ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 100/2005

    The authors of this paper are Renee Adams, Assistant Professor, Department of Finance and SITE, Stockholm School of Economics and an ECGI Research Associate, and Daniel Ferreira, Assistant Professor of Finance, Universidade Nova de Lisboa and an ECGI Research Associate.


    The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the leading investment company, Standard Life Investments.            

    The winning paper:

    Pay for Short-Term Performance: Executive Compensation in Speculative Markets

    ECGI Finance Working Paper No.079/2005

    The authors of these papers are Professor Patrick Bolton, John H Scully '66 Professor of Finance & Economics, Princeton University and an ECGI Fellow, José Scheinkman, Theodore A Wells '29 Professor of Economics, Princeton University and Wei Xiong, Assistant Professor of Economics Princeton University


    The De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the independent international law firm, De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek

    The winning paper:

    Controlling Shareholders and Corporate Governance: Complicating the Comparative Taxonomy

    ECGI Law Working Paper No. 049/2005

    The author of this paper is Professor Ronald Gilson, Charles J. Meyers Professor of Law and Business Stanford Law School and Marc and Eva Stern Professor of Law and Business, Columbia U. School of Law and an ECGI Fellow.