2005 Prize winners

2005 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2021 | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the three prizes in the 2005 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's General Assembly held at SDA Bocconi on 9 March 2005.


    The Egon Zehnder International Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in either series on company boards and their role in corporate governance is sponsored by the international executive search firm, Egon Zehnder International.

    The winning paper:

    Managers, Workers, and Corporate Control, (ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 01/2002)

    The authors of this paper are Paolo F Volpin, London Business School - Institute of Finance and Accounting; Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) and Marco Pagano, University of Salerno - CSEF, Centre for Studies in Economics and Finance; CEPR

    Marco Pagano received the prize from Chris Thomas of Egon Zehnder International.


    The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the leading investment company, Standard Life Investments.

    The prize is shared between two papers:

    1. Ownership: Evolution and Regulation (ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 09/2003)

    The authors of this paper are: Julian Franks, City of London Corporation Professor of Finance, London Business School, Colin Mayer, Peter Moores Professor of Finance, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford and Stefano Rossi, London Business School. 


    2. Tender Offers and Leverage (ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 22/2003)

    The authors of this paper are: Holger M. Müller, New York University and CEPR and Fausto Panunzi, University of Bologna, CEPR and ECGI.


    The De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the independent international law firm, De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek

    The winning paper:

    Dividends and Politics (ECGI Law Working Paper No. 24/2004)

    The authors of this paper are Steven A. Bank, University of California, Los Angeles, Brian R. Cheffins, University of Cambridge and Marc Goergen, Sheffield University and ECGI.